Dark Liaison

Title of Book: Dark Liaison
Author: D.I. Telbat
ASIN: B005V257FK © 2011 Telbats Tablet. All Rights Reserved
Reviewer: Dell Smith Klein
 
ABOUT THE BOOK:
It is an age of prophetic strife when spiritual darkness collides with servants of the Cross. Christians worldwide are persecuted on a heightened level, and while no safety seems to exist, one man steps forward to lend a hand to the defenseless laborers.
 
Corban Dowler is an old-school spy. Six years ago, he accepted Christ’s gift of salvation and then resigned from the morally compromising C.I.A. As Corban desires to fulfill God’s Great Commission, he builds an organization called the Commission of International Laborers, (COIL), where he devotes his skills and resources to assist persecuted or kidnapped Christian servants in the most dangerous environments worldwide. These covert multi-ethnic teams are ex-military or ex-CIA, and all believers in Christ.
 
Satan is every bit the adversary as he operates through his demonic workers of iniquity. They are set on claiming the lives of the righteous that stand for Truth. While COIL is working tirelessly to rescue Christians in need, Satan’s followers are placing roadblocks, destroying, and kidnapping believers in Christ to thwart the efforts of COIL. The operatives find themselves prey to the very wickedness that they are committed to fight, and a battle between good and evil emerges.
 
ABOUT THE AUTHOR:
According to information included with the book, D.I. Telbat has short stories that can be read in Word’s Magazine, The Storyteller, Breath and Shadow, and other print and online publications. One short story collection, Deadly Ink 2010 Short Story Collection, is available on Amazon.
 
D.I. Telbat lives in California, but he keeps his home-base in Montana, where his assistant, Dee, lives. You can read more about D.I. Telbat and his work at http://ditebat.com.
 
REVIEWER’S COMMENTS:
I’ve always enjoyed a good suspense and D.I. Telbats DARK LIAISON was a good read. I found myself pulling my Kindle along while I stood in lines at Wal-Mart and at the grocery store, and read while having breakfast a couple of times.
 
On the surface, Commission of International Laborers (COIL),the organization Corban Dowler heads provides Bibles, hymnals, and medical supplies to missionaries around the world. Below the surface, however, the organization led rescues of persecuted Christians.
 
Most of the time, Telbat gave us believable characters. There was one character I kept my eye on. I hoped he would end up being on the side of right, but couldn’t be positive. I liked Memphis Nelson and hope he shows up in other books of the series. And there was Chloe  not only beautiful, but genuinely capable. And, of course, Corban Dowler stood so strong because he followed God’s plan, not his own.
 
T.I. Telbats assistant, Dee, asked me to review this book. I’m glad she did. I enjoyed reading it. The author did a good job of bringing to light religious persecution that is going on. Did I like DARK LIAISON? Yes. If you like mystery and suspense peopled by interesting characters, you’ll like DARK LIAISON.
 
Here are a couple of websites you might find interesting: www.persecution.com and www.samaritanspurse.org.
One more thing: Book 2 of the COIL series will be out in 2012. If you would like to sign up to receive notification when it comes out, go to http://ditelbat.com.
Leave a Reply

