Interview with Author Ruth Axtell

  Please tell us about your latest publication.

Moonlight Masquerade is a regency romance about two people from different worlds
and ideologies, who feel an attraction to each other despite all the reasons they shouldn’t.
Rees Phillips is from the middle-class, has worked hard all his life to make it where he
is. Céline, Lady Wexham, is a French born aristocrat, widow of an English Earl. She is a
lady to her fingertips. Yet, they both are drawn to what they see in the other.

 

What other books have you written, whether published or not?

Too many to list here, LOL. I have written regency, Victorian England, and rural
coastal Maine settings.

How do you choose your characters, or do they choose you?

They choose me. I either become interested in a secondary character while I’m
writing my current story, or I wake up with a dream that has the potential for a
story, or I’m reading some historical fact that inspires a character.

How did the birth of this story come about?

I remember waking up having dreamt about an aristocrat lady in the Regency
era whose butler was more than he appeared. The rest of the story had to come
from brainstorming and researching the historical period.

If your book was turned into a movie, who would play the main
characters?

Maybe Jeremy Northam, Matt Bomer or Colin Egglesfield for Rees Phillips; and
Jennifer Garner for Celine.

Can you give us a peek into a typical writing day for you?

Writing the first half of the day until I’ve written about 10 pages; then breaking
for a coffee break or lunch, then continuing till I’ve reached my page goal. There
are more research interruptions during the earlier part of the writing. Then I go
for a walk to clear my head and hopefully come up with new plot points.

What do you crave (food or beverage) when you have writer’s stress?

I don’t really crave food. I like a coffee break with some homemade baked treat,
but if anything, I watch my weight when I’m spending a good part of the day
sitting in a chair writing.

If you could choose to have one strength of another writer, what would it
be and from whom?

The ability to generate ideas and just write them.

How do you flesh out your characters? Do you have a specific method?

Just thinking about them a lot as I research the specific historical period.
I find that I’ll wake up early in the morning—pre-dawn often—and the
ideas will flow at that hour. I just have to have a notebook with me and
jot them down.

Leave a Reply

