Cozy Mysteries

Authors Who Write Cozy Mysteries:

  • Nancy Mehl
  • Vannetta Chapman
  • Marilyn Leach

Nancy Mehl lives in Wichita, Kansas, with her husband Norman and her very active puggle, Watson. She’s authored fourteen books and is currently at work on a new series for Bethany House Publishing. The first book in her Road to Kingdom series, Inescapable, came out in July of 2012. The second book, Unbreakable released in February of 2013.

 All of Nancy’s novels have an added touch – something for your spirit as well as your soul. “I welcome the opportunity to share my faith through my writing,” Nancy says. “God is number one in my life. I wouldn’t be writing at all if I didn’t believe that this is what He’s called me to do. I hope everyone who reads my books will walk away with the most important message I can give them: God is good, and He loves you more than you can imagine. He has a good plan for your life, and there is nothing you can’t overcome with His help.”
Readers can learn more about Nancy through her Web site: or her blog She is also active on Facebook.

Gentle and unassuming Hope Kauffman has never been one to question or try to make changes. She quietly helps her father run Kingdom Quilts and has agreed to the betrothal her father arranged for her with the devout but shy Ebbie Miller. Despite Hope’s and other Kingdom residents’ attempts to maintain the status quo, changes have already begun to stir in the small Mennonite town. The handsome and charismatic Jonathon Wiese is the leader of the move to reform, and when one of Kingdom’s own is threatened by a mysterious outsider, Jonathon is one of the first to push for the town to arm itself. Hope’s fiancé, Ebbie, is at the forefront of those demanding the town stay true to its traditions of nonviolence. When strange incidents around town result in outright attacks on several townspeople, Hope can’t help but question what she’s always been taught. As the town that’s always stood so strong together is torn apart at the seams, Hope is caught between opposing sides, both represented by those she has come to care for. With tensions high and lives endangered by an unknown threat, Hope fears Kingdom can never survive in one piece.


Vannetta Chapman writes inspirational fiction full of grace. She has published over one hundred articles in Christian family magazines, receiving more than two dozen awards from Romance Writers of America chapter groups. She discovered her love for the Amish while researching her grandfather’s birthplace of Albion, Pennsylvania. Her novel, Falling to Pieces, was a 2012 ACFW Carol Award winner for best mystery. All of her books have been Christian Book Distributor bestsellers. She currently writes Amish fiction for Abingdon Press, Zondervan, and Harvest House. Chapman lives in the Texas hill country with her husband.

For more information, visit her at her webpage —

Material Witness

The Fall Crafters Fair has barely begun in Shipshewana when murder strikes the small town once again—this time on the property of Daisy’s Quilt Shop. It will take all of the sleuthing skills Deborah Yoder and Callie Harper possess to catch the perpetrator. But the stakes are higher than ever before, since the material witness is their best friend’s child. Everyone will have to go on a journey of faith deep into the heart of God’s grace.

8cb96369 (2)
As a lifelong reader, my friends and I would often critique a book and say, “I could do a better job than that.”  At age 40, I decided to do just that. It took me almost a year to write my first manuscript and I gladly admit I had no idea what I was doing.

But I knew I loved doing it! So I kept on doing it. At the same time, I started reading books on the craft of writing and incorporating new techniques to improve my writing. Joining an online critique group was the final hurdle to get my writing to the level needed to obtain a contract from a traditional publisher.

I write suspense and mystery books. They usually start out with a mystery but quickly turn into suspense novels with lots of action and a touch of romance—because who doesn’t love romance? My last release was a novella that was released only as an e-book entitled THE CHRISTMAS STALKING. With a title like that, you know there’s bound to be lots of action. Some of my other books are: PURSUED; DECEPTION; GEESE MATE FOR LIFE; and DARK ALLEYS. My next release, BETRAYED, will be released in the spring.

To learn more about my books, visit: or my blog at:

8cb96369 (2)

At the age of nine, Marilyn wrote her first play with a childhood neighbor, “The Ghost and Mr.
Giltwallet”. It was a mystery. And she’s been writing, whether hobby or livelihood, since.
A graduate of Colorado State University, she has worked in domestic missions and taught
both English acquisition and art in under served populations. She’s had the opportunity to co-
author several plays that have been performed on both church and secular stages, as well as two
screenplays, one of which was a semi-finalist in the John Templeton Screenwriting Competition.
Marilyn’s Advent of a Mystery, was released in September of 2010, Candle for a Corpse in
2012. She has written numerous Biblical meditations and essays printed in various publications
including Guideposts, Big Dreams in Small Spaces, and Quiet Hour. Marilyn is a dyed-in-the-
wool British enthusiast and it colors her work. She lives lakeside in a cottage on the outskirts of
Denver near the foothills. Stop by her website:

Up From the Grave offers all the elements of good British suspense: village setting, British
English vocabulary, a local constabulary, glowing romance, an amazing sleuth and shadowy
figures. But there’s more. One reviewer said of the writing, “It’s a Jan Karon meets Agatha
Christie style with energy”. Berdie Elliott intrepidly combines both church service and crime
solving in the small village of Aidan Kirkwood where a whisper on one end of the village
becomes a roar on the other. When a sod-turning in the church back garden exposes bones, the
whole village sets to on uncovering the mystery. But Berdie Elliott, vicar’s wife and sleuth, digs
deeply and comes up with the truth. Who is the visiting contessa that appears at the sod-turning,
along with her aide? How do Swithy Hall and the beautiful nuptials of a Darbyshire twin come
into play? And in what way do plants and herbs spell out a divine message? All becomes clear
when Berdie unearths the answers. Up From the Grave is a modern times soft suspense laced
with romance and a dash of humor along with inspirational uplift. As Berdie might say, “Up
From the Grave is a jolly good read.”
Berdie Elliott mysteries follow the liturgical calendar of the church. Candle for a Corpse took
place during Advent. Up From the Grave takes place during the Lenten season. The book I’m
currently writing, Into the Clouds, begins on Ascension Sunday. It’s a whole litany of divine

8cb96369 (2)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s